This Week

17 nov
Come and discover the space and missions of the Butterfly, passing through a ...
24 nov
Description: Discover the heritage that the beach of Avencas has and that is so ...

Themes

Most popular

Cascais Citadel Palace


Wed. to Sun.02:00pm-08:00pm

4,00€

Cascais Citadel Palace Av. D. Carlos
Cascais

Closed during September

Fifty years after being deactivated, the Palácio da Cidadela de Cascais (Cascais Citadel Palace), overseen by the President of the Republic, opened to the public on the 23rd of November 2011, after a contracted renovation work carried out by the architect Pedro Vaz.

In 1870, at a time that Cascais has lost its strategic importance in the defence of the coast of Lisbon, King Luis (reign: 1861-1889), adapted the former home of the governor of the Citadel as the holiday residence, freeing it from its military function.

Until the regicide of King Carlos (r. 1889-1908), the royal family spent the months of September and October in Cascais, completely transforming the everyday life of the village. The presence of the monarch attracted not only the court but also figures of the intellectual and literary world such as the group Vencidos da Vida (an informal group formed by some of the greatest personalities of intellectual anti-relief Portuguese cultural of the last three decades of the 19th century, with strong links to the so-called 70s Generation), of which, among others, Eca de Queiroz and Ramalho Ortigão were part.

In 1882, the first Portuguese Tide Gauge was built, along the Príncipe Real D. Luís Filipe (Prince Royal Luís Filipe) walkway. It has had this name since 1896.  From 1896, King Carlos devoted himself to the study of the oceans through the oceanographic yacht Amélia, having installed the first Portuguese marine biology laboratory in the Citadel.

With the proclamation of the Republic in 1910, the palace became dependent on the Presidency, having been used by several Heads of State, including the Marshal António Óscar de Fragoso Carmona (1928-1951) and Marshal Francisco Higino Craveiro Lopes (1951-1958).

Over the years, the building has undergone the natural wear and tear from the passing of time, until it no longer had the minimum conditions to be used. Therefore, following the protocol of transfer of the Citadel of Cascais to the Cascais Municipality in 2004, in conjunction with the Presidency of the Republic, the process of renovation of the palace began.

With its opening to the public and recovery of the function of summer residence of the President of the Republic, Cascais now had another cultural reference, which is expected to provide regular guided tours and temporary exhibitions and initiatives such as conferences, seminars and book launches. In the medium term, the Presidency of the Republic intends to carry out the installation of a museum centre.


Search in agenda

Cascais Digital

banner_cascais_0banner_cascaisambiente_0banner_cascaisparticipa_0banner_cascaisjovem_0banner_cascalitosbanner_lojacascaisccbanner_geocascaisbanner_agendacascaisbanner_fixcascais